Formula One planning for the return of crowds as 2021 calendar in unveiled

Formula One organisers are hopeful that next year’s record-breaking 23-race season could be “close to normal” as plans progress for the return of fans.

Lewis Hamilton during the Grand Prix of Emilia Romagna at Imola. Picture: Joe Portlock/Getty Images
Lewis Hamilton during the Grand Prix of Emilia Romagna at Imola. Picture: Joe Portlock/Getty Images

The 2021 calendar was unveiled on Tuesday morning, with the busiest campaign in the sport’s history confirmed.

While Vietnam’s inaugural Grand Prix has been shelved, the April 25 date has been held for a yet-to-be-confirmed replacement host, with Istanbul, Imola and Portugal all in contention.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Chase Carey, chairman and chief executive of F1, was delighted to unveil the programme after this year’s 22-race structure was redrawn and reduced to just 17 races in the aftermath of the coronavirus outbreak.

Carey also made it clear it was the driving ambition to move on from the behind-closed-doors era and return to live crowds.

“We are pleased to announce the 2021 Formula 1 provisional calendar after extensive conversations with our promoters, the teams and the FIA. We are planning for 2021 events with fans that provide an experience close to normal and expect our agreements to be honoured.

“We have proven that we can safely travel and operate our races and our promoters increasingly recognise the need to move forward and manage the virus. In fact, many hosts actually want to use our event as a platform to show the world they are moving forward.

“We want to thank all our promoters and partners for their ongoing enthusiasm and collaboration and look forward to giving our fans an exciting season on the track.”

Provisional 2021 F1 calendar

21 March – Australia (Melbourne)

28 March – Bahrain (Sakhir)

11 April – China (Shanghai)

25 April – TBC (TBC)

9 May – Spain (Barcelona)*

23 May – Monaco (Monaco)

6 June – Azerbaijan (Baku)

13 June – Canada (Montreal)

27 June – France (Le Castellet)

4 July – Austria (Spielberg)

18 July – United Kingdom (Silverstone)

1 August – Hungary (Budapest)

29 August – Belgium (Spa)

5 September – Netherlands (Zandvoort)

12 September – Italy (Monza)

26 September – Russia (Sochi)

3 October – Singapore (Singapore)

10 October – Japan (Suzuka)

24 October – USA (Austin)

31 October – Mexico (Mexico City)

14 November – Brazil (Sao Paulo)*

28 November – Saudi Arabia (Jeddah)

5 December – Abu Dhabi (Abu Dhabi)

*Subject to contract

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our trusted, fact-checked journalism by taking out a digital subscription.