Willie Collum RIGHT to deny Hibs Ibrox penalty against Rangers says ex-EPL referee
Former English Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has ruled on the controversial moment in Rangers’ 1-0 win over Hibs at Ibrox.
However it was the Romanian’s challenge on Newell which came into focus post-match, with the midfielder feeling he should have been awarded a penalty for a high challenge – but former whistler Gallagher says Collum got the decision RIGHT.
Speaking in Sky Sports' ref watch he said: "The problem is for it to be a penalty, he has to make physical contact. I don't think he does. I think his boot is high but he doesn't actually catch the player.”
It has also been suggested Jack Ross’ side should have been given an indirect free-kick at the incident – but the Easter Road boss thought it was ‘a stonewaller’ as a spot-kick, and so did ex-Hibs midfielder Michael Stewart. Speaking on BBC Sportscene he said the tackle was “a penalty all day long”.
But Gallagher added: “I don't think physical contact is made with the player so the referee cannot give a penalty.”
Newell reckoned it would have been a foul elsewhere on the pitch but was told the referee’s reasoning at the time.
The midfielder said: “He said I had ducked down. Referees have a tough job, but if it is on the halfway line, he probably gives it.”