Hearts captain Steven Naismith avoids SFA action after Scottish Cup final incidents with Scott Brown

Hearts captain Steven Naismith will not be punished for his various tangles with Scott Brown during Sunday’s Scottish Cup final.

Celtic's Scott Brown writhes in pain after a challenge in midfield with Steven Naismith. (Photo by Craig Williamson / SNS Group)
Celtic's Scott Brown writhes in pain after a challenge in midfield with Steven Naismith. (Photo by Craig Williamson / SNS Group)

The pair clashed several times during the 3-3 draw after extra-time with one first-half challenge in particular splitting opinion between pundits at half-time.

Naismith’s studs landed on the Celtic captain’s upper thigh in the 18th minute of the William Hill Scottish Cup final but John Beaton did not take any action at the time. Celtic scored the opener a minute later through Ryan Christie.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

English referee Marc Halsey has claimed it was worthy of a red and Naismith “know’s what he is doing”. Chris Sutton also believed the Hearts man was a ‘lucky boy’ for escaping censure for the challenge but Ally McCoist countered the former Celtic striker in the half-time discussion on Premier Sports.

The pair were engaged in running battles all over the pitch during the enthralling 3-3 draw, decided by a penalty shoot-out (Photo by Rob Casey / SNS Group)

Naismith was booked in the 62nd minute and he and Brown were also spoken to for jostling in Conor Hazard’s goalmouth at several Hearts corners in the second half, and Brown gesticulated to Naismith following Leigh Griffiths’ extra-time goal.

Read More

Read More
Hearts captain Steven Naismith speaks out on running battle with Celtic's Scott ...

However it appears no further action will be taken. Compliance officer Claire Whyte had until 3pm today to raise a notice of complaint following the weekend matches.

The pair have history – as well as being Scotland team-mates, they have collided on previous occasions with Naismith offered a two-game ban for a tackle on Brown at Tynecastle in 2018.

John Beaton stepped in after the pair clashed consistently in Conor Hazard's area at Hearts corners (Photo by Craig Williamson / SNS Group)

The compliance officer can act if a ‘clear and obvious error’ has taken place or an incident missed. However John Beaton’s sanction and various discussions with the pair throughout their tussles at Hampden have been deemed sufficient with no further action brought.

A message from the Editor:Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by Coronavirus impacts our advertisers.If you haven't already, please consider supporting our sports coverage with a digital sports subscription.