Tier 4 Scotland lockdown: restrictions and rules explained - and full list of level 4 areas including Glasgow, West Lothian and Lanarkshire

Nicola Sturgeon announced that 11 council areas would remain under the strictest Covid restrictions

The First Minister confirmed that the highest level of coronavirus restrictions would remain in place in the City of Glasgow and ten other council areas.

Ms Sturgeon justified the move as a measure to protect the NHS and allow for a loosening of restrictions in the lead up to Christmas.

Sign up to our public interest bulletins - get the latest news on the Coronavirus

Sign up to our public interest bulletins - get the latest news on the Coronavirus

A move into level four resembles lockdown restrictions introduced in March with non-essential shops, bars and restaurants all closed.

The Greater Glasgow area could soon be under strict level four restrictions (Getty Images)
The Greater Glasgow area could soon be under strict level four restrictions (Getty Images)

The new measures came into force on November 20.

What are the level four rules?

Under tier four restrictions you cannot meet with another household in your or their home (unless for care reasons), though you can meet one other household indoors in a public place with a maximum of six people from two households.

Children under the age of 12 do not count towards this number.

Groups of six from two households can meet outdoors in a private garden or public place such as a park.

Again, under 12s are not subject to this rule, while those aged between 12 and 17 are not subject to the household limit.

Couples who do not live together and people who live alone can both form extended households. However, households must not form with more than one other household.

Where parents do not live in the same household, children can move between their parents’ homes in all levels, this includes both supervised and unsupervised visitation.

People are advised to work from home wherever that is practicable.

Indoor acts of worship are limited to a maximum of 20 people providing there is sufficient space to maintain safe 2 metre distancing.

Wedding ceremonies and civil partnership registrations can take place with a maximum capacity of 15 people (including the couple, the witnesses and guests) providing the venue’s capacity allows for 2 metre physical distancing.

Wedding or civil partnership receptions cannot take place in level 4.

Which businesses must shut under tier 4 rules?

Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars will be closed under level 4 restrictions though takeaway can continue to operate.

All holiday accommodation is closed to tourism, though hotels, B&Bs and self-catering can remain open for essential customers.

Only essential retail will be able to remain open in Level 4.

Close contact services including hairdressers and barbers, beauty salons and tattoo artists must shut.

Outdoor gyms can remain open, and you are permitted to meet others outdoors, following the rules around meeting other households, for informal exercise or sport.

All indoor visitor attractions such as museums, galleries, heritage attractions, indoor areas of zoos and aquariums are closed. Outdoor visitor attractions, such as parks, gardens and the outdoor areas of zoos may remain open.

Early learning and childcare can remain open, as can schools, colleges and universities.

What is the advice for those shielding?

Those in the shielding group have been asked to minimise contact with people outside their own household if possible.

They should avoid public transport.

When shopping they should strictly follow the guidelines and limit the number of times they go to a shop.

At this level the Chief Medical Officer will issue a letter which is similar to a fit note and which will last for as long as their area is under Level 4 restrictions.

This letter can be used in the few cases where it is not possible to make a workplace safe.

Children on the shielding list should not attend school or childcare in person.

Which areas will go under level four restrictions?

Ms Sturgeon confirmed that level 4 restrictions will be implemented in the following areas:

Glasgow, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, Stirling and West Lothian