Coronavirus in Scotland: when will Nicola Sturgeon announce review on restriction levels and what it means for your local area?

Scotland’s First Minister is due to give the nation an update on the country’s lockdown restrictions in the Scottish Parliament today.

Nicola Sturgeon’s announcement will take place in front of MSPs at Holyrood this afternoon shortly after 2pm – the time is yet to be confirmed.

The session will be a review of the country’s lockdown restrictions and if any changes to the levels placed in each local authority need to be made.

Sign up to our public interest bulletins - get the latest news on the Coronavirus

Sign up to our public interest bulletins - get the latest news on the Coronavirus

During her daily briefing on Monday, Ms Sturgeon said the current rules in place in each council area are ‘highly unlikely’ to ease given the Scottish Government’s aim to significantly lower cases ahead of winter.

Nicola Sturgeon to review lockdown restrictions picture: JPI Media
Nicola Sturgeon to review lockdown restrictions picture: JPI Media

Here is some information about what to expect ahead of today’s announcement:

When is the lockdown review?

The first review of these restrictions is set to take place today (Tuesday) shortly after 2pm, but the time is yet to be confirmed.

A review of the rules in place will then take place on a weekly basis with the results of any changes coming into force on the Friday of each week.

How likely is it that Covid-19 restrictions will be eased or tightened?

Speaking during her announcement to the nation on Monday, the First Minister said while she is not anticipating a nation-wide level 4 lockdown, she said the easing of current restrictions in place is ‘highly unlikely.’

Where can I watch the First Minister’s lockdown review?

You can watch Ms Sturgeon’s coronavirus press briefing on Scottish Parliament TV here.

What tier of restrictions is my region under?

No regions have been placed under the lowest or highest level 0 and level 4 restrictions.

Level 1: Highland, Moray, Western Isles, Orkney and Shetland

Level 2: Aberdeenshire, Aberdeen, Fife, the Borders, Dumfries and Galloway, Argyll & Bute and also Perth & Kinross and Angus

Level 3: Inverclyde, East and West Dunbartonshire, Renfrewshire and East Renfrewshire, and the City of Glasgow; South Ayrshire, East Ayrshire and North Ayrshire; Stirling, Falkirk and Clackmannanshire; The City of Edinburgh, Midlothian, West Lothian and East Lothian

You can find out which restrictions your region is under by checking the government’s postcode checker.

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by Coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our trusted, fact-checked journalism by taking out a digital subscription.


Want to join the conversation? Please or to comment on this article.